top of page

Is your love still in the air?

As February draws to a close, it's crucial to assess whether the love you share with your significant other is still in the air. Are you still breathing love into the air, or has it become a routine gesture without genuine connection? One key aspect of a thriving relationship is the mutual exchange of love, and that involves understanding and reciprocating love in your significant other's unique language. Have you actively chosen to express your love in your significant other’s preferred love language today?

A relationship is a two-way street, requiring mutual exchanges between individuals. Reciprocating love is essential, and this goes beyond expressing love based on your own interpretation. Instead, it involves showing love in a manner that aligns with your significant other's unique preferences. The most effective way to achieve this is by understanding and catering to your significant other's love language.

Have you familiarized yourself with the five love languages? The concept of love languages, as introduced by Gary Chapman includes 1) Acts of Service, 2) Words of Affirmation, 3) Quality Time, 4) Receiving Gifts, and 5) Physical Touch. Each person has a specific love language that makes them feel most cherished. Recognizing your significant other's love language—whether through a compliment, a helpful task, or a thoughtful gift—is crucial. Taking the time to comprehend and practice your significant other’s love language demonstrates genuine care and commitment.

Consider if you're expressing love through Acts of Service, such as doing household chores or preparing meals, while your significant other desires Quality Time spent together. A disconnect in understanding each other's love language is like miscommunication. Both parties may engage in acts based on their definition of love, but if it doesn't align with the individual's love language, the intended love might not be effectively communicated.

Assumptions about your significant other's desires or assuming they understand love based on your definition can lead to problems. The key to avoiding such "love miscommunication" is open and honest communication. Take the time to discuss and comprehend your significant other's needs, fostering a deeper understanding that can strengthen the bond between you. This not only contributes to a healthier relationship but also enhances appreciation for each other.

In conclusion, love your significant other in a way that resonates with them! As we step into a new month, let's continue to nurture our relationships by speaking the language of love that our significant others understand and cherish. After all, communication is the key to a love that grows stronger with each passing day.

Food for thought

-How do you express love to your significant other and do you think it aligns with their love language?

How do you handle conflicts or misunderstandings related to love languages in your relationships?

-Find time today to find out what your significant other values.

-Brooke Grandison, LCSW

42 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All


So needed to read this today!

Replying to

Thank you for sharing your feedback ! ❤️

bottom of page